Letters From Home Cicero, Hamilton County, Indiana 1915

My second Great Grandmother, Orrenda Willes Carson, was a school teacher from Potsdam, St. Lawrence County, New York. Orrenda attended the Newbury Academy in Vermont, and joined the Teacher Corps organized by Gov. Slade of Vermont in the late 1800’s. Orrenda traveled to Indiana to teach the pioneer children, where she taught until 1860 when she married James R. Carson.

She raised 10 children, 8 of her own, and 2 from her husband’s first marriage.  When her children went off into the world, Orrenda, or as she calls herself “Mother Carson” wrote letters and expected replies back. I am fortunate to actually have a few letters written to my Great Grandma Grace, from her mother Orrenda. I have transcribed these few letters and found a wealth of genealogical information, plus I am able to imagine what kind of personalities my ancestors had way back when.

The next blog post will be the first installment of “Letters From Home”.

 

About hoosierbeth

I have been researching my ancestors, your ancestors and everybody else's since 1981.
This entry was posted in Letters from Home, My Ancestors. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

