Edward W Very Dead

Edward W. Very Dead
Inventor of Night Signals and
Ordnance Authority of Note

What’s up with that title/headline??!!
I sat and read that a couple of times, until I figured out Very was his last name!
Put that in our weird name file!

I found the article while researching for one of my ancestors in the archives of The New York Times. The date was March 2, 1910.

 I decided to “google” Edward’s name and found out he was the one who invented flare guns and he also served in the Navy. He named his flare gun “Very Lights”.

Genealogy just amuses me to no end.

This is the article/headline that caught my attention!

This is the article/headline that caught my attention!

  1. March 2, 1910 – Article – Article – Article – Print Headline: “TRINITY BELL RINGER DEAD.; Albert Melslahn Played the Chimes for Half a Century.”

Edward was right up there with the bell ringer!!

About hoosierbeth

I have been researching my ancestors, your ancestors and everybody else's since 1981.
This entry was posted in My Thoughts, Researching and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Edward W Very Dead

  1. Hah, that’s very “cute”! I guess nobody thought too long about the headline.

    • hoosierbeth says:

      I do alot of researching in old newpapers checking up on the ancestors. I guess I am just nosey, lol! But some of the articles that are not related to what I am suppose to be looking for, catch my attention. I find these quirky old articles amusing. I don’t think they thought very long on any of the articles “back in the day”. Nowadays, everyone blames the press for misunderstandings and/or “hate and discontent”, but some of those folks need to read a newspaper from the 1800’s to the early 1900’s. They were no different than the media today.

Leave a Reply

