Queen of the Marines Part 2 Panama Canal Zone

 Stationed during the 1960’s in the Panama Canal Zone, my parents attended the yearly Marine Corps Ball. With the humid weather and trade winds blowing, a bouffant hairdo rarely stayed in place for more than a few hours. My mother scheduled an early appointment at the beauty parlor on the day of the ball. The hairdresser made sure she lacquered my mother’s hair stiff and in place and her hairdo stood up well for the occasion.

Another tradition while we lived in the Canal Zone was to take a boat cruise the day after the ball. My parents always brought a few friends along, especially my mother’s lady friends. The ladies sat in the open on the boat, and let the salt water and humidity strip the lacquer out of their hair. After the boat ride, they went home and washed out the remaining lacquer, going back to their normal, everyday hairdos.

Once a year, my parents transformed into king and queen and spent a special and traditional night out. I miss those days and hopefully the pictures and memories we have will never fade.

Mom and Dad getting ready to leave for Ball

About hoosierbeth

I have been researching my ancestors, your ancestors and everybody else's since 1981.
This entry was posted in My Ancestors and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Queen of the Marines Part 2 Panama Canal Zone

  1. arizona89 says:

    A picture of another time, very different from our own. I enjoyed your writing. Keep up the good work! Thanks for including photos also.

Leave a Reply

