Our Family Bible

Here is a fun story I have heard through the years from my Grandparents Hazel Marie Ackerman Stockmaster and Frederick Charles Stockmaster. My mother also used to tell this story if my Grandparents were not around. This is very thick, beautifully illustrated, with a Biblical dictionary, along with the science from the early days of Christianity all included, along with an index Bible

4 generations (including myself) have told this story:

  • Martha Louise Stockmaster Burritt
  •  Fredrick Charles Stockmaster
  •  Grace Louise Carson Stockmaster
  • Orrenda Willes Carson

This story is about the family Bible from the James R Carson family in Hamilton County, Indiana:

James R and Orrenda Willes Carson were my 2nd Great Grandparents who lived in Hamilton County, Indiana.

One day, as the story goes, a peddler came to the door selling family Bibles. Orrenda wanted one, and had James’ name engraved on the front leather cover in gold lettering. She then wrote all the weddings, marriages, deaths, and grandchildren in the family tree pages of the Bible.

From the story, J.R. was annoyed/angry that she spent so much money. As the story goes, either he wasn’t in town at the time, or not there at the house when she bought it. I vaguely remember the story, but I remember she bought it off a door-to-door salesman a peddler.Carson Family Bible

About hoosierbeth

I have been researching my ancestors, your ancestors and everybody else's since 1981.
This entry was posted in Family Heirlooms, Indiana, My Ancestors. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Our Family Bible

  1. Mom says:

    So cool! Thanks for sharing this…my mom bought a set of Encyclopedias one day from a peddler and my dad never let her hear the end of it…family unmentionable to this day :)

    • hoosierbeth says:

      Thanks so much for posting and I am happy you enjoyed my story! We bought World Book Encyclopedias from a traveling salesman, but both my parents were in agreement about the purchase. We were the “coolest” kids on the block with our encyclopedia set, and many kids came to our house to use them to write reports for school! As we (us and our friends) became older, we started going to the library for research, but when we first got the set, we were the talk of the (small) town!!

Leave a Reply

